Cowlitz County .org

  Home | Clerk | Sheriff | Fire | Court | Community College | Schools | Library | History
Department of Health | Hospitals | Humane Society | Airport | Parks | Fair | Real Estate | Business Directory


Cowlitz County School Districts:

Longview School District 122
Dr. Nick D. Seaver
2715 Lilac Street
Longview, WA 98632
Phone (360) 575-7000

Castle Rock School District 401
Dr. Richard Wilde, Superintendent
600 Huntington Avenue South
Castle Rock, WA 98611
Phone (360) 501-2940

Toutle Lake School District 130
Scott Grabenhorst, Superintendent
5050 Spirit Lake Memorial Highway
Toutle, WA 98649
Phone (360) 274-6182

Kelso School District 458
Dr. Glenys Hill, Superintendent
601 Crawford Street
Kelso, WA 98626
Phone (360) 501-1900

Kalama School District 402
James D. Sutton, Superintendent
548 China Garden Road
Kalama, WA 98625
Phone (360) 673-5282

Woodland School District 404
Michael Green, Superintendent
800 Third Street
Woodland, WA 98674-8467
Phone (360) 225-9451

The number of school districts in Cowlitz County has changed considerably over the years. The "History of Cowlitz County, Washington" (Ott and York, p. 19) gives a feel for this evolution:

In 1873, there were 19 school districts, namely: Carrolton, Castle Rock, Cedar Creek, Chelachie, Coweeman, Freeport, Kalama, Lancaster, Lexington, Martin's Bluff, Monticello, Mr. Coffin (Fowler's), Oak Point, Pekin, Pumphrey, Rock Point, Shanghai, Silver Lake and Summit.

By 1876, there were 20 school districts. By 1890, there were 40, and at its peak in 1912-1913, there were 64! Soon after, however, many of these districts consolidated, with the larger ones including Castle Rock and Woodland. By 1978, there were only seven - Carrolls, Castle Rock, Kalama, Kelso, Longview, Toutle Lake and Woodland. Today, there are six districts within Cowlitz Co. (Castle Rock, Kalama, Kelso, Longview, Toutle Lake and Woodland), and one (Green Mountain School District) along the Cowlitz - Clark Co. border.


©1997-2024 All Rights Reserved